Office for today

Summer seems to be making a return which was a bonus for me as I returned to the station where I worked on my first summer as a volunteer on the railway.  In the mid seventies, Dolgoch station took delivery of a sales trolley - a kind of sideboard on wheels - with crisps, chocolate, badges and postcards plus a number of crates of bottled fizzy pop.  I sold these from the trolley, the glass bottles of pop being kept cold in the small stream that bubbles away across the line.  Cool as a mountain spring drinks were much in demand in the summer of '76 just as they were this year.  

Today I was Station Master, selling tickets, giving advice and keeping people safe.  No trolley but there are still postcards, badges, sweets and bottle of pop for sale.  No surprise that Health & Safety means the drinks are no longer stream cold ..... and much less in demand.

I had a super day.  Plenty of folk around but in the quieter moments I could sit in the sun with my book and just the station robin for company.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.