Private Lives: the Tin Man and the Golden Dog

I stopped by the Palmer Museum briefly on this afternoon to take one last look at Julie Heffernan's paintings from When the Water Rises. I had noticed while riding the bus to work in the morning that the exhibit's close date is September 2. And I wanted to see it once more before it leaves. So I did that and it was awesome.

I also took a few minutes to stroll around the museum and look at some of the other art works that I enjoy very much. There is a gorgeous, colorful painting by an American artist named Roy De Forest, called Private Lives, from 1981. And I was drawn to look at it, as I always am, by its strangeness and its amazing colors.

I can't say I know what it all means, but I do love art, and this piece is a favorite. I make up stories all the time about things I see in the world: people interacting in public spaces, works of art. It amuses me. The love of a good story is a key part of the human condition: tell me a good story and I promise, I will become spellbound.

Above is a detail of a favorite section of the art work. It includes a dude in a checkered hat on the left, who resembles the Tin Man from Wizard of Oz to me. Is that a tiny mustache I spy?

On the right is a golden, shiny dog that looks like it might have been painted by that gold-lover, Klimt. The dog has its tongue sticking out and a wild glint in its eye.

So there the characters are. Now what's their story? I don't know. YOU tell ME. . . . .  The full version of the painting, for the curious, is included in the extras.   :-)

The title of this art work reminded me of Private Investigations, by Dire Straits, so that is my soundtrack for today's images.

Bonus: a link to an article about the art of Roy De Forest.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.