Ein Prosit...

I've Blipped before about Ingolstadt and Kirkcaldy being twin towns. Indeed my 6 year relationship with Dr D was a direct result.  

Well, every two years the Kirkcaldy side puts on a Bavarian “beer and music festival” - pretty much a miniature version what goes on in a beer tent at a Volksfest in Bavaria. Beer and a band come over from Ingolstadt for 4 days. 

So, tonight was the opening night of the 2018 version. I went along for the ceremonial opening. It was difficult, but I’m glad I did. 

The beer was Herrnbräu’s Tradition. Their Festbier, natürlich. A jolly 5.6%… 

I cycled home after three of them (1.5l). It’s nice to know I can still do that kind of thing. Pity I can hardly see the keyboard. 

I’d forgotten how good the beer is in that part of the world. 

Leaving aside personal issues (or trying to, anyway), I got quite melancholy about a 50+ year flourishing relationship between Ingolstadt and Kirkcaldy - friendship, cultural and linguistic exchanges, fun, beer, music - and the bitter, small minded evil of Brexit.       

Well, I suspect I’ll be there for a beer or two tomorrow. 

The Blip is one of our distinguished local British Labour Party politicians and the band having some cultural interaction just after he’d dealt (expertly) with “tapping the barrel” to open the event.  

747

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.