Populating

Friday has been unusual. 

The Manager had asked me to represent the Boss at a morning meeting neither could attend, but wanted to be represented at. It started badly. The chair - a nondescript British Labour Party apparatchik - announced the need to "populate the action plan".

My first thought was to tell her where to shove it. My second was to get up and leave. My third was to ask what kind of population density she had in mind. My fourth was about the salary I'm paid each month. 

In fact, she said little after that, which was ideal. I was able to observe the representatives of two multinationals from the petrochemicals business and of the two regulatory bodies tasked with protecting the public from them, dealing expertly with concerns voiced by local bodies - noise, light and air pollution, plus vibration from low frequency noise. 

No-one believes or trusts them - especially the well briefed chap representing the Scottish Greens.  

Anyway, considering I knew nothing about what was on the agenda and even less about what to say if required to say something, I seemed to do OK. 

After lunch I got over to Dysart for the routine coffee by the harbour, and really appreciated the fresh air and sunshine after a morning stuck in a windowless room. 

Now it's time to check that the aforesaid salary was actually paid today. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.