The aligator and the shadow

Dad designed and made this metal aligator. It's a nut cracker and I remember it well from childhood. Now it sits in wait at my place near the front door.

It's in 2 parts, a smooth body, head, and legs are one part, the skin and tail are the other part. A hole in the head of the skin allow it to slip over the smooth head. Lift the tail, the jaw drops and you can pop a nut in its mouth and crack it.

I'll blip that another time.

On the inside of the skin is a piece of tape with Dad's hand writing "Designed, built but not chromed by Fergus Pearce".

Dad made this while training to be an engineer 73-75 years ago.

Today's gratitude: For the many spray painted curves on the front and side lawns. At least I know where I don't want landscaped ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.