NellieD

By NellieD

Mrs HCB

I came home last night to a Royal Mail 'we tried to deliver' card. My husband immediately went on the defensive promising that he hadn't bought more golf equipment. Barely a day goes past when we don't have a delivery of a new putter, shoes or balls! I had an idea what it was though and knew that it may have come via Blip :).

As a newcomer to Blip, I was amazed at the level of support and interaction a daily photo can bring about, even though my photos at the beginning really weren't that great. I have had so much encouragement from people all over the world, people that I may never meet and don't even know what they look like! It's been the most amazing couple of months and I'm hoping I get to 365 blips without missing a day.

When you find that a fellow blipper shares your love of books and daily quotes, you know you're going to connect! How lovely to receive the book 'Philomena' and a beautiful handmade card from Mrs Honeycombebeach - just because she thought I might enjoy reading it. How wonderful is that! Thank you so much for such a kind gesture Mrs HCB, for being so welcoming and just downright lovely. I appreciate it more than you realise. 

After nipping to the Post Office, I headed off to my crochet/knit group (in my extra).  It was a smaller group than normal - which is a strange thing to say when you still have 33 turn up! 

We had 4 ladies come along for the first time who were all really lovely and didn't mind the rather risque conversations that can crop up at times! It was clear they were going to fit in straightaway. One of the new ladies had just arrived from Germany, suitcase in hand and had come along to the session before picking up the keys from her new landlord. That's commitment!

We were telling them about how we had a surprise marriage proposal at the group last year. Fellow blipper Kathymay had phoned me to say that the husband of a member wanted to propose to his partner and could we help! Since it was the 2 year anniversary of the group, we decided to rig a fake raffle. She was always going to win as her name was on every slip of paper in the hat! She unwrapped her prize to find a crocheted heart with 'will you marry me' across the middle - as her partner stood up to propose. I wasn't the only one in tears!

Quote for today:
1 universe, 9 planets, 204 countries, 809 islands, 7 seas - and I had the privilege of meeting you.
- Unknown (written before Pluto was demoted)!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.