An evening treat

Felt very "out of sorts" today, very tired and lethargic - not ill as such, just not really with it all day. Couldn't motivate myself to do much at all. 
My husband took me back to the Flash in an effort to cheer me up which could have backfired a lot had we not seen anything as I wasn't really in the mood for birdwatching. 
However, upon arrival at the first hide at 5:45pm, we saw our first kingfisher on a post in the distance. It soon flew closer and after 10 minutes was on the post right in front of the hide - lucky or what :) 
After it flew away, we waited about 20 minutes before moving on to the Tom Edmondson hide where nothing much was happening. Knowing that the hides are normally locked around 7pm, we headed up to Ramsdales hide for the last half hour. There had been nobody in any of the hides, and this one was no exception, but on arrival there was not one, but two kingfishers on the branches nearby! We sat for 20 minutes watching them plus at least one other bird before the warden came to lock the hide - noooooooo! We didn't want to leave :) 
The warden was very understanding and just left us with the open padlock to lock up after we had finished. So we had another half hour of watching the kingys flit around before the light got really bad and they flew off. At least 4 kingfishers this evening - what a contrast to last night. 
So, now I am feeling a bit better - how can I not after watching my favourite birds for 90 minutes. I have spent the last half hour deleting lots of shots and picking one to blip, so here he is. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.