Venue 47 Porty Art Walk

I had an away afternoon at the seaside today. A cycling friend and I went to visit an exhibition of paintings by another fellow cyclist who was taking part in the Porty Art Walk in Portobello.

The journey on the famous 26 bus from Princes Street took so long that we felt as though we had traveled through time itself, but it was all worth it to see Jude Nixon’s rice paper hangings printed using different kinds of seaweed and her smaller abstract paintings of East Lothian and Shetland where she had attended a artists’ residential course in Bressay Lighthouse

There was one particular painting that I loved of the snowy fields of East Lothian, but since I had left His Lordship behind in the Dower House, I wasn’t sure enough of his reaction should I commit to buying it there and then. We may have to return.

Portobello was almost as busy as the centre of town with all the festivities of its ‘Art at the Seaside’ week, and the lovely warm weather had the beach very popular too. It was wonderful that the weather cooperated with the organisers this year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.