Explore, Dream, Discover

By Snowcycle

The High Road

Who'd have thought Friday would have the best weather of the week off. It starts off quite cold, but the sun is out and it warms up quite nicely. I cycle out to Dalkeith through Gilmerton, then the climbing starts on the Cousland road. Out of Dalkeith the traffic is now very light. I turning off to head for Fordel Mains. Fordel Mains road has been resurfaced, but the wind means I don't get much benefit from the descent to the A6093, where I turn left and follow the Pencaitland Road, for a short while. The climbing continues on the B6371, which takes me up to Humbie. I mull over stopping for coffee at the Hub, but decide I want to cycle over the Granites rather than heading down to the sea via Gifford.

I follow the B6368 SW to the A68, where I turn left. Normally a busy road, it too is very quiet for a weekday. It makes it easy to turn right and back on to the B6368. Initially it climbs quite steeply around the north slope of Soutra Hill. Just at the top of the steep climb is Soutra Aisle (Extra). It is the remains of the House of the Holy Trinity, a church that was part of a complex comprising a hospital and a friary. So Edinburgh's first hospital, deliberately placed here as it was felt the fresh air would do the patients good. I carry west from here, a long descent, short climb, then a steep descent to the A7.



The sun really has warmed up nicely. I head north, the take the B709
to Heriot. The first part is through wooded areas, then as the road climbs higher, the trees clear and I am left following the high road. At Garvald Lodge, I turn south to get my blip of the High Road (looking north east) then head back to Garvald Lodge, on to the B7007, up and over the Granites.


There is a long and fast descent down the B7007, and I turn off at the bottom to head for Middleton. Then I follow the country roads west, then south to Gladhouse Reservoir, west along the reservoir then north to the Top Gear road. Then its home via Mount Lothian, and long descent through Loanstone to Auchendinny and the steep climb up the Brae to the A701, left on to the Seafield Moor Road, A703, to Hillend, and then home.



You can see the route at Relive here.



After lunch, I get the bus down to the Bike Co-op to see if any more bargains could be grabbed. I do get some new winter cycling tights. No overshoes. I then walk down to the canal, before heading up to get some coffee and cake.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.