Viewpoint

By Viewpoint

Male Common Hawker in flight

Taken on a short walk at Denaby Ings yesterday morning while I waited for Ann’s church service to finish at 12.  It was another lovely morning and I’m very fond of the place. It’s got two hides that look out over the water and dragonflies were patrolling the grasses just in front of both hides.  I think it was pure luck that I managed this hand held shot but I think in trying out an idea I’ve come up with a system that might work using a small tripod.  Whether I get organised enough to try is another matter.   

My main aim in going with her was to photograph the public sculptures in Conisbrough for the ArtUK project.  I needed to go back to photograph the plaque on the Miners memorial sculpture that I forgot to take last time I visited.  Then moving on, to photograph the War Memorial and the Fountain and Lamp Sculpture in the park, the last of these installed to commemorate the coronation of King George V.  

Driving back towards Denaby I then stopped to photograph the Air, Fire, Water sculpture which was originally commissioned to sit outside the Earth Centre and since its closure seems to have been re-sited a bit further along the road opposite the Balti Palace.  It’s easy to drive past without seeing it.  I think this is my favourite of all the sculptures I’ve photographed so far and feel it definitely deserves a better site than this where people can easily stop to admire it.  Maybe I should start a campaign.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.