The mast

Considering how much we all rely on them now,  I can't remember the last time I saw a blip of a telecoms mast.   They are hidden helpers,  indeed.

I had that thought when driving to Tighnabruaich this morning.  Fortunately there was one just to hand .

This mast, just across Loch Ridden from our house, used to provide our television signal but although I presume it still does, it now  also provides a  mobile phone signal, upgraded at the end of last year to 4G, though there are many masts in Argyll & Bute which still carry a much slower and poorer service.   

That fact has been a constant problem for me since I was elected as the local MSP , partly because lots of people rightly complain about the very slow and patchy access they get, and partly because I still find it difficult in many places in my constituency to receive and send material when out of the office. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.