The Blue Pool

It was tough choosing a Blip for today - it was a busy last day of our holidays.
But as it's currently the 4th of September and Summer already seems a world away I need to get on with it and can't spend hours agonising over photos or doing a montage.
We managed to pack up in good time this morning. It usually takes us hours and results in grumpiness and sweatiness but it was quicker than usual. We must be getting the hang of it!
Once we'd packed up we all headed to the Blue Pool which is only a five minute drive from Norden.
As I'm writing this about six years after the event I realise I'd forgotten to mention we've been mingling with the stars on this trip.
When I say stars I mean Mike Bushell of BBC Breakfast fame.
Well when I say we I mean me - I'm the only one that's seen him. It's like that episode of Frasier when he's dating a supermodel but no-one else sees her and thinks he's delusional!
The other day when I was walking back from the camp shop I saw someone I recognised walking towards me, assumed I knew him and greeted him with a hearty "Hiya!!!!!"
I must have looked like a nutter!!
The next day I saw him in the same spot cycling with his (or some random) kids. I managed not to speak!
Then this morning as I was driving out I passed him - in almost the same place - carrying his grey waste towards the toilet. Nice.
No other member of my family has seen him and may think I'm delusional.
If I was delusional I would have imagined seeing George Clooney rather than Mike Bushell. With all due respect to Mike Bushell!!
The words Mike Bushell have lost all meaning!!
The Blue Pool was fabulous, we had such a lovely few hours exploring. My dad remembers it from his childhood and it was lovely to see him there with his grandchildren. 
Walking in the woods round the pool was so beautiful. There was a brilliant trail for the Little Misses to spot fairy doors in the trees and models of squirrels and owls in the trees. And there was tea, cake, scones, jam, cream and ice-cream!
The whole place had such a tranquil atmosphere. It was like stepping back in to the fifties!!
From there we headed back to Swanage for long promised, eagerly waited maiden voyage in Ripple.
Ripple is a four man rubber dinghy which the Little Misses have been dying to set sail in. We bought a hundred foot rope from the wonderful camping shop at the campsite which wells everything you could ever possibly need.
Just like last time we went we were lucky and found a parking space right on the front. The Little Misses were pogo sticking up and down in their excitement!
They leapt out, got changed, grabbed the pump and despite mine and Mr K's hopes that the attachment wouldn't work pumped up Ripple for her inaugural voyage! 
It started off well enough - much joy and giggling as they launched!
The less said about what followed the better - the rope wasn't practical on a busy beach so I decided just to let them loose. They'll be OK I said.
Outgoing tide, gusts of wind, string currents.......... Oops!!!!
Seeing them drifting out despite Miss E's best efforts and then watching Miss L - inexplicably - getting out of the boat, I leapt into Baywatch action and swam out to get them. 
I got hold of Miss L and a couple of people on the beach who had also clocked the tiny girls in the big boat heading to France swam to get the boat.
The actual Baywatch lifeguard was poised on the jetty to leap into action but thankfully wasn't needed.
They weren't really that far out but would never have been able to get back in. And as for Miss L getting out..... Idiot child!!!!
Mr K was very gracious despite obviously wanting to jump up and down and shout "told you so, told you so!!!!!!!!!!"
My mum and dad headed off once the Little Misses were changed and we had all eaten ice cream.
We headed to the arcade for a last go on the 2p machines, then it was fish and chips for them and Subways for me before a final walk on the beach. 
The journey home was painless. Home by 10pm after another lovely holiday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.