Sue Foll's picture of the day

By POD2008

Back to (art) school

I'm watching the kiddies trotting down the road to school whilst drinking my coffee in Minkies Deli. It's just me and a group of resting actors first thing.

My need to be pathologically early meant I had time to pop into the Royal Academy this morning.

Historically RA students had to first master drawing sculptures from the Academic Collection before being let loose on life models. I'm not sure if that's true now.

Also inside Burlington House is a touching exhibit by Bob and Roberta Smith. It was a collaboration with his mother, who was also an Academician. Only late in her career did she begin signing her first as well as her last name. Revealing herself to be female.

The BP Portrait Award at the NPG was not bad. More painterly this year. Less photographic realism thankfully. Not too twee.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.