a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Hal's Song

"Daisy, Daisy, give me your answer do
I'm half crazy all for the love of you
It won't be a stylish marriage
I can't afford a carriage
But you'll look sweet upon the seat
Of a bicycle built for two"

Harry Dacre ~ Daisy Bell


Whenever I think of this song now, it brings back memories of that scene in 2001 a Space Odyssey where Dave Bowman has had to shut down the Hal9000 computer by pulling out memory modules, Hal having killed the rest of the crew and nearly killed him.   As Dave pulls out the modules, Hal's sentience degrades until we are left with him poignantly singing "Daisy Bell".

I decided to work from home today, in order to hide from the distractions that working in a busy open plan office present.  Unfortunately, my phone didn't stop ringing and my hopes of getting some of the more difficult bits of backlog sorted out just didn't pan out.  I think I might as well work out of the office tomorrow...!

In some ways this photo is a bit like my life this week.  Enormous amounts of detail and sometimes its hard to see the wood for there trees.  I'm the tiny little bug in the thumbnail-ed daisy ;-). 

Apologies for being such a useless Blip friend at present, hopefully a productive Thursday and Friday will improve things somewhat.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.