Life through my eyes

By Amanda_T

Burry Port and Pembrey Country Park

It was a little bit overcast today with a few light showers but not enough to deter us from our planned ride to Pembrey Country Park.  On Sunday we found out they have made a National Closed Road Circuit (part of which was used on the Tour of Britain stage) and I fancied trying it.  You can chose 1km, 2km or 3.5km circuits.  The 3.5km circuit includes a very innocuous looking hill, it took me three circuits to work out the right gear to get to the top without getting out of the saddle.  Mr T was relaxing in the Ski Centre with a coffee strong enough to support his spoon.  If I hadn't hurt my shoulder I would have tried skiing today too, but the riding had made it a bit too sore.  You can see the ski slope and the toboggan run in my collage.

We found a nice coffee shop at Burry Port (Harbour Lights Tearoom) with very nice cakes so we stopped in both directions.  She had a brilliant quote behind the counter "when people discover the centre of the universe a lot of people will be disappointed to know that they are not it ...."!  I'm sure we all know someone that is applicable too!!

Also the current RNLI Burry Port Lifeboat Station and the new one under construction.

We had a "discussion" with some workmen on the way as there were road closed signs but we weren't sure if they had been left behind.  It turned out they were regretting the path and the grumpy digger man said the path was closed.  So where are you diversion signs then I asked?  The path is closed he replied.  So I said they should have provided advanced notice and a suitable off road diversion.  The other chap let us walk through with our bikes!  Then the people at the ski centre told us an alternative cycle route back to Burry Port which went along the old canal.  Not as nice as the coastal path, but better than the road as Mr T doesn't have enough confidence to ride on the road.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.