Aberdour

What a strange day. It has been enjoyable, rewarding, stimulating and tiring, but strange too. 

It started with a text message (SMS, I think I mean) from N at 7:15 to tell me she reckons she owes me some money and wants to repay it. I was unaware of this and wondered if she had sent the text to the wrong person.

Apparently not, and I think I have figured it out. 

Work was strange too. I spent part of it outside a voting station in Aberdour - 20 minutes west of here - because a local council by election was taking place. Whilst there I had a surprise reunion with someone I was in partnership with for 13 years, until I left in 1999. Tom lives in Aberdour and I hadn’t seen him for many years, but he came to vote while I was there.

He is one of the good guys from that era. Like me, he managed to get out before things got messy. We shared one memorable work expedition to Warsaw and Vilnius which opened his eyes to how tough these trips could be. I think he needed a few days off to recover. 

To conclude the day I decided to treat myself to a wee dinner in the local Nepalese restaurant. It was delicious. My bill came to £14.99 and I paid with a £20 note. They gave me £15.01 change. Yes, a strange day. And yes, I gave them back the £10. 

Transport to Aberdour had been a bit chaotic, so I got the train back, and the end result is a Blip. Aberdour Station used to win awards for its garden and floral displays. Maybe it still does. The Blip doesn’t do it justice (I was tired and hungry by then).     

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.