Dawn over Bonnyrigg

Wake! For the Sun, who scatter'd into flight
The Stars before him from the Field of Night,
Drives Night along with them from Heav'n,
and strikes
The Sultan's Turret with a Shaft of Light

I’m taking the car today because I’ll need it to move Angus to Glasgow tomorrow. That means leaving super early to get a space in the work car park. The upshot of which is a wonderful dawn.

After work I catch the 34 to Tollcross from Marionville Road, which takes me into Restalrig, a residential part of Edinburgh that I’m unfamiliar with. I don’t get time to absorb the run-down-ness because the bus is coming round the corner. Another time.

A quick couple of pints with Dave and Magda at Cloisters and then dinner with Malc, Nas and Jem at Harajuku Kitchen. The food is good, the atmosphere comfortable, but the most memorable thing is the cramped toilet. There’s no space for a basin, so they’ve found a toilet that incorporates one as the top of the cistern.

After a nightcap, Malc (who has not been drinking) plays taxi, and I get dropped at the bottom of Dundas Street. Rachel is waiting with an open bottle of wine. Dom does card tricks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.