Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Illuminated, perhaps

Today, as promised, I went to Illumination: a Festival of Flowers at Winchester Cathedral.  I discovered late last night that it actually started at 9am not 10, so made sure I was down there as the doors opened.

The theme of the festival is Winchester's world famous illuminated medieval bible.  All the colours come from it and I believe the large letters hanging over the nave spell out 'In the beginning was the Word'.  There were many info tags around the building, explaining the exhibits - but having bought a 'Souvenir Programme' I thought I'd gen up at home - only to find there is nothing in there but photos.  Grrr!

Never mind.  I hope this gives you a little impression of what it's like.  All the side chapels have completely different exhibits but I can't show them here.  In Extras is another of the nave, the decorated crypt with its Anthony Gormley artwork (the 'man'), an enthusiastic visitor and the 'heart of the church' that lies below the high altar.  If you put your head near it you can hear it beating (so I'm told, I didn't test it).  I haven't decided if I'll keep all the extras up permanently, but it lets you see more now.

A big thank you to BikerBear for continuing to host FlowerFriday.  And wishing you a happy start to your weekend  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.