She wanted to be Flower Friday...

... but you keep making her owls!

Can you remember the old BBC adaptation of Alan Gardner's "The Owl Service"? That book was of course based on the Welsh myth tale of Blodeuwedd, from the fourth branch of the Mabinogion. I loved it, although I can't now recall if I watched the series first or read the book. Either way, it was another step into the woods that called to me.

This remarkable and freshly cut owl is part of a woodland installation at Newark Park. So new in fact that the artist is still on site for a few more days, cutting into fallen ash trucks and revealing minibeasts, hares and of course owls.

I gather our village gardening team have engaged this same artist to produce something wonderful, which will be installed at the western entry into the village later in the year. Exciting stuff. I've dropped an extra in of the back of the owl, so you can enjoy the wonderful feathers!

Oak, Broom and Meadowsweet

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.