Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Hike day

The ladies hiking group had a planned hike to a natural area,  Ashmore Heritage Preserve, in upstate South Carolina today.  I debated and debated with myself about doing the hike because I knew it would probably be hot and  we would be walking up hills.  But my outdoors, mountain loving self decided to make the trip and tackle the trail in spite of the heat.  I am so glad I did!  

It was a 2 hour drive to get to this location which was donated to the state by Mr. Russell C. Ashmore, Sr.   There is a monument in the preserve with a poem Mr. Ashmore wrote in 1974..
"Leaves are dancing in the wind as the branches nod and sway, as though each twig would like to say, Welcome Friend, have a delightful day.
And may these trees remain uncut and may this land stay free and clear, and may God's creatures roam and feed without a thought of fear.
Yes, it's great to look upon a tree, and feel the thrill God made for us to see, to be shaded by its leafy arms, as well as enjoying its lofty charm.
Here the Supreme architect of all creation raised His hand to morning light and renewed by soul in Nature's great delight. "    


Pretty much says how I feel when I am in the deep woods.  Thankful Mr. Ashmore donated this great property to the state for all of us to enjoy.

And we did enjoy our hike..waded streams, climbed up and down hills,  saw a three small waterfalls and a big lake.  We walked about 5 miles to make a round trip from and to the parking area.   It was shady for most of the trail ( so glad for that!)  which was mostly an old road bed but some of  it was single file walking of roots and rocks.     We climbed down a bank to sit at this small waterfall in the photo.  Lucky for us, there was a rock in a dry area where I could put the camera on the self timer and get a photo of us all.  The  reason I look so awkward sitting in the photo is because when I tried hurry to my position after pressing the shutter (10 seconds is not a long time!) I misjudged my squatting and my butt fell right in a cold water puddle!   But actually it felt really good and cooled off my hot body!!   

It always is a great time to spend time in the woods with these ladies.  The lady in the pink shirt who has to walk slower because of her knee   stays with me when I lag behind because I find things on the trail that have to have their photo made!   A great hiking buddy for a photographer.

Next month we have another hike planned..I am not crazy about the area that this hike is in..mostly flat trails and pine forests.  As the leaves will be starting to change colors in the mountains, I think I will make a suggestion that we go back up to the mountains at a different area and enjoy the leaves. Maybe October will not much cooler for hiking.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.