Strawhouse

By strawhouse

Wildlife Camping

It's been almost a week since we went camping so it was high time to go off again!!
This time to Digeddi Wildlife Camping near Hay on Wye with our lovely friends Mrs C and Mr M, and the Little Misses' friends Mr L, Mr R and Mr C.
We booked it months ago thinking it looked like an amazing campsite for the kids - just fields and the river. 
Mrs C and Mr M have never been camping before and I've spent the last few days getting more and more anxious about the site. I was worried I may be going a bit too rustic for their first experience!
I was horrified by recent reviews of the site - and more specifically the owner's responses. Check out the 3* reviews - I have never seen anything like it!!!!! 
When I booked it through Cool Camping the listing said it had free showers, washing facilities and toilets. Not according to those reviews!!!!!
I gave Mrs C the option of backing out but she's game and said we should give it a go!
So it was with some trepidation that we set off today. As we were bringing our old tent for the D's and all the stuff they need we've come in two vehicles. I had a lovely couple of hours tootling down in my packed to the gunnels car listening to my audiobook. Bliss.
Mr K called from the site when I was about ten minutes away to say that it was amazing and I needn't worry!!
He wasn't wrong!
Within ten minutes the Little Misses were in the river. 
Within half an hour Miss E had been swept away by the current, luckily grabbed on to a fallen tree and was hanging there while I stripped off down to my knickers and t-shirt to go and rescue her. Luckily there was a passing paddle boarder who went over to get her. Unfortunately she capsized the paddle board when she tried to get up on it but all was well and she came safely back over to us.
God forbid my daughters could set foot in water without needing to be rescued!!
It was a bit of a wake up call. The river is slow flowing on our side of the bank but a bit deeper and faster on the far side, and there are rapids as it goes round the band. We chose a big rock on the beach and said they can't go downstream of that rock. Hopefully all will be well!
The next hour was spent putting up the big green tent for the D's, getting Penny and our tent sorted, building a campfire and eating hotdogs and curry and rice (we really need to expand our camping food repertoire!!)
Mrs C and Co arrived at about 9pm. They were pleasantly surprised at the size of their tent and their comfy camp beds. 
All good so far!!
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.