Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

Cuckoo

It's blowing like stink outside right now. Not sure it's really a gale as predicted, but I'm happy to be hunkered down and not out in a boat. Had a walk before the wind came up and worked in the studio (it's that time of year: books, calendars, xmas cards, etc...so little time....and our solitude will end on tuesday) so here is an indoor blip with a bit of a story, before dinner and a dvd.

A couple of years ago my husband H's brother T wrote and said he had this family "treasure" of a cuckoo clock and was cleaning out and wanted to put it on ebay, but thought he'd check with the family first. I said, "Absolutely NOT, we already have one in a box in our storage room!" ( from their Aunt Marie, who I'm sure owned this one too.) Well, I am not the sentimental one in this family. H said, "send us a photo". The photo came and there were these cool animals on it, not a moose , but a deer and some dogs. so.... I relented and T brought it up here to the island. Where it sat in it's box. It was of course all dark brown, so last summer I decided to paint it, and now I rather like it on the cabin wall, and it reminds me of Aunt Marie - not too sure she would approve of my "improvements... I included the moose looking down from over the back door (brought from Sweden. We have a serious moose theme going here -) as I think he is interested in this clock. (It probably works but we are Not going to try to make it run)

Also the dPS's assignment for the week is "man-made symmetry" --I think this fits.
Hope you had a good weekend.... "sub sunday" ....I wanted to go scouting for under- viewed cool blips but couldn't use the internet so much. do appreciate some of the tips....I'll do that later...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.