A million dollar sandwich....

First off if the birds had a court, I would be guilty as charged. This morning a bird was zinging around the back yard, and although I have seen this before when I removed the bird feeders,  this one landed on the squirrel guard, and was very unhappy not seeing a feeder underneath.. I felt sorry for the poor bird... So I went a got a tray, and not having any bird food, I put our some caviar pecans, cashews, almonds and..   then headed to the store for some sunflower seeds.. I had removed the feeders when the rats moved in.. I will keep just a basic food in the feeder and see how it goes. The Jays and Flickers still won't be happy but... 

About the time the game was to start, I headed to the store and then over to my dad. He had requested a ham on rye sandwich and being able to bring him some joy again I made sure I got the best - beer smoked ham, white wine, horseradish deli mustard (his favorite), deli rye bread and after dinner mints of course... (the kind that are small, chocolate and melt quickly)

My dad was wide awake and happy to see me.. so much so that he went into a coughing fit... after he calmed down his breathing was pretty good the rest of the time I was there   After I made him his sandwich, I tore it into a zillion little pieces - smaller that the photo shows. Since his arms weren't cooperating with him today, I gave it to him one bite at a time.. He went super slow because as he told me, he wanted to savor every bite.. 

Although the game was on, we didn't watch it.. I fixed his mp3 player as it had impacted the floor a few to many times.. and we talked.. the entire time I was there... About wanting to buy a home from his sisters husband that hasn't been in that home decades.. couldn't remember her husband had passed away.. he wanted to go to so many places, take a walk this afternoon, worried about not having enough money for his care and... A little bit of everything in his life and couldn't stay on one subject more than a few sentences at a time but...

That was one of the most expensive basic sandwiches I've have ever bought.. but even if it was a million bucks.. seeing the joy on my dads face.. i would buy it again in a heartbeat... 

Easy day at work planned.. I hope it stays that way...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.