Mono Monday - Exotic Woods

I'm grateful to Blipper CakeMartyr for pointing me at the Royal Fort Gardens in Bristol's University grounds.

It's a place I didn't think I knew about, but now realise I'd gone to the actual building for seminars and talks many times without knowing the name of the grounds it was set in. 

I also didn't know anything about the art installations in the grounds, and "Hollow" is one of them, the other being "Follow Me" blipped by the aforementioned Mr C.

The installation is worthy of a colour shot, but of course it's Mono Monday... Imagine. This consists of small pieces of wood from more than 10,000 different tree species! How exotic do you need?

The web site for the installation is worth a visit. http://www.hollow.org.uk.

Inside, you can smell resins from many of the tree samples. It is redolent of a temple, and makes me recall one of my favourite pieces of verse, "I go to the Church of Trees", by Arthur Hinds.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.