Devil's Coach Horse Beetle Larva

I like this shot as much for the super tight focal plane as the odd little fellow contained almost within it. I had to go google for him, but I'm fairly sure he's a larva of the Devil's Coach House Beetle, or Ocypus olens. I managed not to step on him.

I came across him as we were leaving Westonbirt Arboretum having had a decent post-rain walk to celebrate Charlie sending in her final MSc thesis. Before the deadline! No longer a student (for now) she'll have to go find a job eventually...

While in Westonbirt we happened on a juvenile pheasant (extra). I've not seen a juvenile before, only previously encountering the tiny-brained adult birds as they saunter across country lanes prior to being shot at by the unwashed gentry.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.