But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Nuthatch.

I forget the exact sequence of events, but we were standing by the kitchen window, presumably watching the birds on the feeders, when this little chappie appeared. Not having a suitable camera to hand, we just stood and enjoyed the sight for a few precious moments before he flew off. It had seemed a wise move at the time. A few minutes later and he was back again so I went to fetch the right camera and lens. When I returned there was no sign of him, but Herself assured me that he had returned and disappeared several times during my absence so I whiled away my time by doing a few practice shots of where he had been. That really was a good plan as I was ready when he returned for the last time and managed a handful of shots on continuous drive before he was away.

It was soon afterwards that a lady phoned to say she had a dustbin full of bees in her aged father's back garden, and wondered if they were of any use to me. She wasn't sure that their home was really suitable and they might be better off in a proper hive. She wasn't far away so when she emailed a photograph that was good enough for me to make a fairly reliable confirmation of her report, I agreed to visit. I arrived to find that they were very busy and very dark so they seemed to be a very attractive prospect; I left her a token of my appreciation in a squat one pound jar and promised to return in a few days to collect the bin with its contents,
It should be an interesting project.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.