Hiding from Norman

I've had a take it easy day as I fell whilst coming downhill in the woodland at the end of our road, during our Sunday run, and my knees have been sore.  I really was hobbling last night on the Monday run and should have given them a proper rest before going out again.  It's just frustrating staying put!

So I've sorted out some buttons for Chris's projects and popped them down to her house; watered and fed the pots; picked the remainder of a neighbour's raspberries whilst they are away; filled the bird feeders and set up the camera to entice the squirrel.  Unfortunately, the neighbourhood cats had other ideas.  Two of the squirrels in the elder tree disappeared whilst I was setting up and there was just this youngster grubbing around the foot of the tree for the bird leavings.  Neither of us saw Norman the cat sneaking up until he was close enough to almost catch this little guy.  Norman is no match on speed, he attempted something of a pursuit but he doesn't climb trees either, thankfully.  However, this juvenile sat in the very top of the elder tree for a long time.

I gave up on squirrel taming and took a careful walk up to the wood to catch the sunlight for a weather photo.  Once upon a time, when the fields belonged to neighbour Peter, I could wander across them blipping the terrace and the view beyond.  Now, sadly, there is new fencing and 'Private.  Keep Out' Signs.  They keep horses so I guess it is understandable.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.