In My World

By JoanneInOz

Breakfast guests

First thing this morning Forrest-girl escaped from our back yard. Yes, the yard is completely fenced. Yes, it's a huge area. So how does she get out? Forrest can jump! So there I was this morning, right down the back yard, standing under the pecan-nut tree in my nightie, calling and calling, trying to get the naughty scally-wag back where she belongs.

A slight movement caught my eye overhead, and there on one of the bare pecan tree branches sat a kookaburra, staring straight at me. I had a chat to him - I'm sure it was my old friend Larry - and told him I had no food with me, but if he followed me back to the house I would bring breakfast out to him. Unfortunately I didn't have my camera with me either, and the sight of him so close by, sitting on the branch with the blue morning sky background would have been the most beautiful photo.

He understood every word I said, of course. ;) So when Forrest came back into the yard, tail between her legs (she knows she's naughty escaping, so why does she do it, I ask her!?!) I walked back towards the house with the sounds of flapping wings and cackles as Larry and his friends followed me.

I had five kookaburra guests here for breakfast this morning. Some days I have as many as nine visiting, and two of those are less than a year old. It's the greatest privilege to have these amazing birds visiting me each day, knowing I will feed them, and I'm sure they know how much I love them too. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.