Border Tails

By Swannie

Behind bars.

Today, I did the Friday version of the shift I did on Wednesday. It starts three hours earlier with a school run from Earlston High followed by a two hour break in Galashiels. I went for a walk along Channel Street, got a sandwich and nipped into the Building Society to see if I could cut down on the amount of statements they keep sending me now that I have Power of Attorney over my father’s accounts. I feel as if I am personallly responsible for the deforestation of a small country. I will now get them quarterly rather than monthly, so I suppose every little helps.

I got back to the Transport Interchange and had a blether with my old colleague Derek as I ate my piece. When it came close to his time for leaving for Hawick, we went downstairs so that he could have a fag. There was quite a few of us standing around laughing and joking, then Paul, the whistler appeared on the other side of the fence. He is the banksman and it’s his job to guide the buses off the stance, but between departures he walks over to join in the banter.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.