Border Tails

By Swannie

Converging parallels

I was determined that, for the first time since June, I would have this weekend off.  I told Tony at the bus depot that I couldn’t work and arranged to go out for dinner in Edinburgh with family.  Yesterday, my boss at the lab, Sarah texted me to say that she hadn’t been able to get anyone to do my Saturday morning run and was there any chance that I could!  It wasn’t easy to get up early after three late shifts, but I made it down to Duns and back in time to go home, change and catch the 1135 train to Waverley.

I was up at Tweedbank Station early and managed to take this shot of the deserted platform before the train arrived.  I spent an enjoyable afternoon at Dad’s then we got the bus down to George IV bridge to a restaurant called The Outsider.  This had been recommended to me by the brother of the head chef whom I worked with at the lab and it was a great choice.  

Dad and I met my sister Clare and her husband Adam, and my Uncle Arthur and Auntie Jenny who are full of fun at the age of eighty six and eighty five.  We had a cracking meal,  I have posted an extra of my starter - pan roast pigeon, carrot and nutmeg purée, roast chantenay carrots and beetroot, pickled shimeji mushrooms and a raspberry balsamic.  A great night, and I’m am definitely NOT working tomorrow!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.