Smidget

Wee Smidget was sitting at the very end of the cul-de-sac this afternoon when I got in from work and I couldn't resist taking a few shots of her. She's such a pretty wee cat, and I love these odd eyes. Her humans tell me she's wild and really bosses their collie dog around!

Last night Sheba appeared with a picture wound on her side, so I had to take her to the vet this morning. Carla thinks it has been a tooth or claw from another cat that has done the damage, but she wasn't ruling out an airgun pellet! She has had an antibiotic, anti inflammatory injection and I have cream to put on twice a day. She will also get to share Maly's Loxicom. Hopefully swelling will go down before she has a checkup next Friday so that Carla can rule out a pellet.

I popped into Asda on my way back from the vet to get a few bits and pieces then when I got home, I decided to vacuum the spare room as I have a friend coming to stay tomorrow night. When I came back down the stairs I walked into the kitchen to discover the sealed packet of fruit pancakes that I had just brought home and laid on top of the microwave, had been broken into and all the fruit eaten from one! A quick Google search told me that sultanas are very dangerous for cats and can cause kidney failure.

I phoned the vet and the descision was made to admit JJ so that they could force the greedy wee beastie to be sick so that less damage would hopefully occur. I collected her again at four o'clock with her activated charcoal which is to go into her meals today and tomorrow. She will go back in on Tuesday night, to be starved and have blood tests the next morning. Hopefully we have caught it in time and it hasn't damaged her kidneys.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.