My birthday: Dingle 2

My birthday and the sun shone and I was spoilt rotten! Fuelled with a massive breakfast of granola, yogurt and fruit, we mooched around Dingle, then travelled to the south side of the peninsula with a distinctly beach feel. First stop Kinard - a storm beach, a castle and a holy well, and then most bizarrely a wedding! Just the groom, the bride, the celebrant and a photographer. On to Inch beach - miles and miles of sand  and I just had to smile at the surf instructor - what a dude! I had to laugh even more for I think I had spotted his portrait earlier in the day in a convent!! (Surely the artist's self-portrait?It made me giggle), can you guess what it was part of?) Back to the Nest for a quick freshen up and a visit to another holy well down the road where the well keeper, the delightful Caoimhin, approached me speaking Irish!  I even managed to reply and then it all went wrong!!  Dingle is a Gaeltacht area  and Irish still widely spoken. In fact all the signs are as Gaeilge which can be interesting. The final excitement for the day, we wined and dined in Solas. Oh wow - what a treat - exceptional veggie food, beautifully presented. A grand day altogether. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.