A stand-off on the feed tray

After we finished the last filming this morning I drove out of town to the farm shop near Bisley to stock up on fresh vegetables and eggs. I was pleased to meet Keith there, who is one of the owners of the shop and the farm. He concentrates on their thriving honey production business which of course means he looks after their many bee hives spread around the local counties.

He has asked me to if I wanted to offer some of my pictures of him with his bees at an AGM of their association of bee farmers which will meet on the farm in October. He thought the other members might like to buy pictures of the bees and the hives, so I readily agreed. I will just have to sort out the pictures I've taken of him tending his hives.

When I returned home for lunch I boiled one of the eggs and as I sat eating it with some bread and cheese, I managed to catch this image of a rather bedraggled bullfinch which is in the process of moulting as it fed on the food  just outside the back door. What was interesting to me was this other bird, which I don't recognise approaching the tray and the bullfinch fearlessly. I don't know of any other small birds which will not be scared off by bullfinches. It isn't a bird I have seen here before, but later onI spotted two of them flitting about the nearby tree. Does anyone recognise what it is?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.