Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Yardbird #49

My lucky day!  I just happened to be out on the patio with the 300 lens when I caught a little flash of yellow in a little service berry tree.  Immediately pointed lens at leaves and waited for motion.  Sure enough, out popped this little male Northern Parula, one of our summer warblers.  This is actually the second one I've seen in the last few days but I was unable to get any usable shots of the first one.  This fellow is already in his fall plumage, nowhere near as bright as he'll be next spring, but still handsome enough.  They have a wide breeding range in eastern N. America, from Florida all the way up into Canada.  Winters are spent in Mexico, Central America and some of the Caribbean Islands.  

Although this is the 49th yard bird I've managed to Blip this year, it is actually the 69th species I've seen in the yard since Jan. 1.  I'm behind last year's numbers, but who knows what will turn up in the next few weeks.  

A reminder for all you TinyTuesday fans, the tag for this week is #TT173 and while there is no set theme, I would ask that you take time to get up close ...either to something tiny, or to the tiny details of something larger.  Have some fun!

Five monarchs will be released today.  Warm weather is helping move the process along for the remaining cats.  Seven are in their 5th instar and will be pupating soon while my last 4 (named W, X, Y Z) are bringing up the rear and should pupate in about 10 days, fingers crossed.  Still taking dedications...

Getting ready to go get MIL and bring her home for a Sunday meal, so I'll check in later.  In the meanwhile, a huge thank you for sending my alien creature to the front page today!    You made my day!

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.