Changes - and not for the better

I was alerted to further changes on the Walk by meles. She managed to shoot this particular #leithwalkshop in the soon-to-be-demolished Stead's Place area for the record before they boarded up the windows. I managed to photograph it yesterday as well, but decided against blipping it in the end. I've stuck yesterday's photograph in the extras for the record. There's quite a lot of "how many men does it take to do [insert fairly simple task]" about this picture, and it reminded me of this much earlier blip of a hoarding being painted on the Walk (where there are now large buildings).

Although the planning permissions have yet to go through, it looks as if the life is being squeezed out of this distinctive and important part of the Walk. Since I blipped one of the posters protesting the proposed demolition at the beginning of the summer, many businesses have closed and moved away. I must say I fail to see why we need more large buildings of the type which now adorn the Shrubhill area - more student housing, possibly more hotels, and likely more shops/restaurants that are not local and distinctive, but are parts of chains, like the Starbucks and Sainsbury's which are tenants further up the Walk. So I'm with the #saveleithwalk folks.

A rather tired day, after yesterday's late night. I went to a class at Projekt 42, but I'd bitten off more than I could chew, and left about 3/4 of the way through. Anyway, better that than nothing. I'm planning a swim tomorrow. Things are slowly getting better, but it's been such a setback.

V popped down for a coffee before she sets off on her holidays tomorrow. And my overdue book review got closer to completion because at least the books are read.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.