Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

It Was ADay

The morning started out pretty harried. I had to meet the movers at mom’s first thing. Mostly furniture and several boxes were brought to my place and a bunch of my stuff went back to hers. They also helped us rearrange the living room to accommodate the many changes.

After I paid the guys, I stayed at her place to pack up more stuff. I wanted to bring her bed linens to help her feel more at home here. The car was parked on the street with the rear passenger door slightly ajar so that I could pull it open with my elbow when my arms were full. After my first trip, and while I was in the house, I heard a loud banging, grinding noise. Someone had driven by and nearly ripped the door right off. They didn’t stop. This isn’t a big, busy street at all; narrow-ish, short and quiet.

I was able to gerry-rig a short cord through an open window to keep the door from flying off so I could make the mile-long trip home. It wouldn’t close. My poor little baby has been towed into the city but the insurance agent failed to arrange my rental. Hopefully, I will get one early tomorrow.

Oh, and I have no internet connection. They can’t send a guy to flip a dang switch (which will cost me $50) until late on Friday. So not only does that prevent me from using my laptop but my landline as well - no way to reach mom if i’ out. To add injury to insult, no Netflix on the so-called ‘smart’ TV.

Is it little wonder I chose to blip my neighbors yard skull?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.