Border Tails

By Swannie

Whale’s jawbones

This afternoon, on my way back to the lab from Abington, I couldn’t go my usual way through Skirling, because the police had closed the road just outside Biggar. I was forced to go further along the A702 and turn off a few miles down the road. This brought me past the entrance to Netherurd.

Netherurd house and its grounds were gifted to the Scottish Girl Guides in the 1940s by local landowner Major Thomson of the Ben Line Shipping company. I am sure there will be a few of my fellow lady blippers who remember camping here, or staying in the Brownie House. I can recall walking up through this archway on the Sunday morning to attend the local church at Kirkurd and after two nights in a tent, struggling to stay awake for the service.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.