Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Abstract Thursday: Progress

It's been another non-stop day and I've been really struggling to keep my eyes open for the last hour.

This picture is taken by me through the front screen. It's not the best angle for it but better than nothing. I reckon it can almost qualify for Abstract Thursday. The Museum of the Future is coming along nicely. It is going to be such an amazing building when it is completed, and best of all, we live almost walking distance from it!

I dropped G to work, then drove to the other side of town to Volvo. I needed some things confirmed about the part they say I need, and I'm glad I went because it didn't look like my questions were going to be answered this side of the weekend.

Info secured, I then braved the RTA Customer Happiness Centre. It didn't go well the last time we visited, so I went with much trepidation, not wanting the outcome to ruin the rest of the day. They were surprisingly very open to listening to my query and even reversed the parking fine, The problem was that I had parked in an area marked I but paid for J. Why I and J are adjacent to each other is a mystery, but hey ho. I was warned to be more careful next time. When I got home and checked online (I still have to pay the other parking fine), it was still there. Argh.

Next stop - IKEA to get a lamp for G. Her virtual classroom needs to be kitted out properly, and lighting is key. New lamp secured, I headed back to pick her up. We had just enough time for lunch before I had to do my three hours of calling. It felt like a real intrusion into my time but went ok. I was keen to get to the end because I only have a few hours to finish preparing for the meeting tomorrow.

In between, I got in touch with a supplier in the UK for the part I need for the Volvo. It is so tiny, it fits in my pocket! As with the last part which came from abroad, the freight costs almost as much as the part does, but still nearly a quarter of the price quoted by the dealer, so it's definitely worth it.

The best and most important news of all though was that Patrick has successfully migrated the website to a new host and it is up and running ready for beta testing. I wish I had less on my plate to truly appreciate what has happened on that front. Tomorrow - around noon, I'll be doing the happy dance!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.