Dunnock

In light of the arrival of Storm Bronagh this afternoon, as predicted by the Met Office, I decided to do my outdoory stuff this morning.  Hobbler Angela had said she was running before work, so I was up to join her on a circuit of the caravan park at 6.30am.  It was dark when I got up just before the alarm went off at 6, so I had to root through the junk store cupboard for the headtorch.  By the time I had jogged down to the village to meet Angela, dawn had broken and there was no need for the headtorch.  We had a pleasant half hour catching up with children going away to Uni and assorted health issues.

I returned home to prepare breakfast; wash the carrots from the allotment; put in a load of washing; take the recycling bin up for collection tomorrow and carry up a tray to Tony, his turn for breakfast in bed.

Dishes washed I walked out in to the Autumn sunshine, Storm Bronagh not yet on the horizon, to litter pick a couple of streets.  I've come to learn that if you find one bit of detritus from a MacDonalds meal, you are bound to come across the rest before too long!  I chatted with a couple of folks then headed home for a coffee.  I had brought home several postcards from Jorvik yesterday, including three 'scratch n sniff' ones which were particularly smelly so many apologies in advance to Kathryn, Karen and Trevor and their mail/post men/women!!  I was glad to drop them in the box, I tell you!

Lunch was prepared, washing brought in dry and at two minutes to one the rain began and it hasn't stopped since.  Apparently we are to expect strong winds overnight so window boxes have been brought down and watering cans secured.

I've passed the gloomy afternoon uploading old photographs to my school FB site and reliving some of the memories they brought back.  They are still being discussed by a whole age range of ex-students, some older than me!

* if you fancy a great few days in the Lake District in the company of fellow blippers, being tutored in landscape photography by professional photographer and blipper John Gravett, there are now just two places remaining 5th - 9th November.  The details are here.  I've been on one of John's workshops before and it was excellent!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.