biddy

By biddy

Yellow roses.

I picked these yellow roses from the climbing one outside, just before Storm Ali arrived on our shores the other day. 
It will be the first  official day of autumn on Sunday 23rd September. 
There is absolutely no doubt now that summer has flown!   
      It was 6C earlier this morning before 7.00am. 
Our heating came on, triggered by the drop in temperature.
    Then the day began in earnest with more blustery winds and driving showers rushing through.....
    I was having a coffee with hubby at one of our local coffee shops, before I went to the hairdressers, and he was going to the local supermarket, when an old friend joined us. 
      I left for my appointment leaving the two men together  chewing over the fat as they say, and they were still there when I left the salon! 
 I rejoined them and we were there another hour! More coffee and tea being consumed!
  Eventually we left and went home for lunch! 
At lunchtime a beautiful box of flowers by post arrived from the family. This added to another floral gift from friends yesterday, and a small bunch of chrysanthemums from hubby. They gladden the heart.        
        The shopping was done afterwards. But by this time I had already arranged to catch up with one of my close friends and so I spent another hour or so in an independent coffee shop nearby with her.  
    Meanwhile we are now being told that Storm Bronagh is imminent! A warning out in the Midlands.  
t certainly feels colder this evening. The almost full moon is shining in a clear sky. Hot water bottle time at bedtime! 
     I have put out the hedgehog food..............it still feels very empty in the house and garden without Tiger.....but I see him in my mind's eye in all his favourite places. 
     A bit like the old song:
" I'll be seeing you in all the old familiar places......"

    Time to close the curtains now it is dark and snuggle down. We are listening to Brahms 2nd Symphony on BBC Radio 3, coming from the Bridgewater Hall in Manchester. I  saw my first live performance of a piano concerto in Manchester when I was a teenager. It was Grieg's Piano Concerto in A minor accompanied by the Halle Orchestra. 
I was totally entranced. I marvelled that anyone could remember all the notes and play a piano with such passion and feeling. Glorious.  






    
         
        
               

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.