GOOD ADVICE

Had a nice lie in this morning - much needed after a week of busy days and late nights.  Did a few household chores before it was time to walk down to the dentist.  I had an appointment to see the hygienist - scale and polish.  My blip shot is of a wooden plaque she has on her windowsill. ( I am counting this as an emergency blip ) The thumbnail looks more like a chocolate cupcake topped with strawberry icing than a toothbrush.  Maybe this is intentional.

Then I went to the chemist to collect my repeat prescription.  I spotted a notice on the window which said you could pop in and have a consultation if you had a minor ailment.  Well I did have a minor ailment.  So I was shown into Consultation Room 1.  My ailment  ........ well around a week ago I woke up to find a lump at the side of my right thumbnail.   It was painful.  I put some Savlon on and a plaster to keep it clean.  I changed the plaster every day  and applied more Savlon.  It continued to be sore - and it started throbbing and " weeping".  So thats what I wanted a consultation about.   The " chemist lady "  ( I'm not sure of her actual title - pharmacist ? ) examined my thumb and said it was infected - and advised me to see a doctor or nurse. Before I left she asked if I wanted the flu jab - so I got that out of the way.

Then I went to the Health Centre.  I wasn't hopeful of seeing a doctor or nurse today as by this time it was 4.25pm and the place was very busy.  I was given an emergency appointment and told to wait.  I would be seen - eventually.  In the end my wait was only 40 mins and I actually saw my own doctor ( usually I don't seem to be able to get an appointment with him ). The doc said it was probably paronychia - infection of the tissue surrounding a fingernail.    He said I needed an antibiotic.  Did I want tablets or cream?  I chose cream.  Back to the chemist to get the cream.  Hope it works and the troublesome thumb gets better soon.

After a stormy rainy night the weather today has been calm and dry.  But its been rather chilly.  It certainly feels like Autumn has arrived.

Becky and Mike continue to have a marvellous time in California.  They travelled in a cable car to the top of Mammoth Mountain and had a tour of the Mammoth Brewing Co. They went on a 13 mile bike ride between Mammoth Lakes and Lake Mary Marina.  There are wild bears around but so far they have managed to avoid them. Thank goodness for that.


Steps today - 8,107

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.