Kangaroo

By Kangaroo

Red like desire by very last light

I struggled to choose and my neighbour thought the red one too. The choice was between this and a perfect white carnation with two beautiful full buds readying to burst open in the coming hours. The last of the light looks a perfect time to capture these using the mobile camera. 

Last night was very cold again. I learned today after battling it to sleep that it was 2 degrees minimum. I made myself succumb to staying in bed this morning. I told my wilful self to accept I had an awful night. I woke refreshed at approaching midday. Except for the busy dream that was crammed with detail. I promised myself to remember interesting segments. 

The gist was a staff party and I innocently forgot to put a hurriedly changed and crumpled man's shirt I had never seen before back into the family basket of essentials.  I had left the party to retrieve something for the children from the basket and walked back to the party before I realised I still had the shirt in my hands. The detail of the shirt in the basket was down to the way cotton creases when a shirt is pulled off and even the way the shoulder is still a presence and a gaping armhole. 

The shirt design was reversible and the back panel was covered with tiny busy bouquests of flowers outlined in black with touches of navy and pink on a white background...very attractive... and the front the same design on dark red with one short sleeve the same and the other matching the back. 

A woman at the party had gifted it to my husband and that was clear and she did not know of me. The expression on her face was quite reposeful and dignified and she closed her eyes to collect herself seeing the shirt absent mindedly held in my hand. I recognised she was, regardless the colours swathed plain fabrics, dressed in an outfit designed to match the shirt. Fabulous. She looked fabulous.

Something quite sad about that for her. I see her beauty and vulnerability.

I rarely recall dreams.

I am far more interested that I dreamed the design of these clothes than I am in the tedious subject matter of how I learned at the party of their affair. The latter feels incidental. The shirt was double row stitched by the way. Meticulous machining. :)     

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.