Fallen Oak

An image for my reference today. It’s the first time I’ve been in the wood since the wind of last week and I was quite shocked to see the number f branches and trees that had come down.  The most dangerous was an tree sized branch from an ash tree that had fallen across the public footpath next to the chapel, but I was quite shocked to see this oak.  Looking at the minimal way it was attached to the root it’s hardly surprising it couldn’t withstand the wind.  There are quite a few trees down in front of it but I think these have been down for some time.  They are sycamores which seem to have succumbed to a virus or fungal infection.  This tree wasn’t adjacent to the footpath but I know people walk through here with their dogs.
I went looking for fungi but didn’t find any (well one tiny fragment that had been eaten) but there were butterflies about, mainly speckled woods and small coppers.  The small coppers have done really well around here this year - I don’t remember seeing them here before.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.