Goodbye Dad

Dad and I travelled southward and met my sister near Bristol to collect him and take him back home. We had a really pleasant journey down, chatting and listening to a couple of CDs he bought in Orkney of the pipe band and some great fiddle music. We were tapping along!

We decided to go the 'high' way over the hill from Monmouth to Chepstow; some occasional sweeping views and much more pleasant than hoofing down a dual carriageway. However, I had a lapse in concentration and we ended up doing a scenic route through industrial units to find the M5 ... just how many tyre centres do you need?!!

It was great to see my sister. Dad was cheerful and I think he will be glad to get back to his own space, even if it means he now has to get his own lunch and evening cocoa!! He just loved his trip north and was very grateful to be able to go.

The blip is the mega-hobbit Gloucester Services. I was incredibly tired so took Poppydog for a fresh air wander to try and wake myself up a bit. Lots of fruit on the young shrubs and trees and some welcome sunshine.

I'm still shattered but want to stay awake to watch the golf on TV - maybe a snooze on the sofa ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.