A Screech of Owls!

Another lovely but definitely autumnal day!  I took some knitting needles down to airedaleknitter, had a cuppa and then did an hour's litter picking, it being too nice to be indoors.  I've pottered at various things through the afternoon and then decided to make some biscuits to try out my new cookie cutter.  Our Club logo is an owl and when I spotted this in the shop I thought it might come in handy for future picnics etc.  Crikey it was hard work!.  Note helped by the fact that the recipe in the book was not adjacent to the photo of the biscuits, so my first mixture was bun instead of cookie mix!  Quick change of plan and I made a small apple cake and then had a go at the proper recipe.  You can see the issues I had with the cutter as these 'owls' have varying expressions which pretty much reflect the faffing involved in getting the mixture out of the various sections of the cutter.  I can see it being consigned to the bottom of the kitchen drawer with all the other 'useful' gadgets!

Book:  The Silence of the Girls
I've read lots of Pat Barker and particularly 'enjoyed' her Regeneration series.   I heard her talking about this new book on the radio recently (coincidentally it is being dramatised on the radio each night this week late on) and was intrigued.  This is something of a re-telling of the Iliad but from the women's point of view.  It's not pretty, often brutal and you know history has not treated women well from the off so there is little hope of a happy ending.  The women are 'used' in every sense of the word by their captors and their own men, and their lives are constantly in danger yet they retain their dignity and sisterly support.  It's been a couple of weeks of heavy reading, I'm ready for Jimmy Perez now!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.