EgyptUnveiled

By EgyptUnveiled

Alzheimer talk - A year of Blips to the day.

Had a little meander through the beautiful village of Medinet Habu earlier, the temperature is just perfect and it seems to bring silence with it. Everything seemed very calm today. As I pushed the bike, I heard my name being called? 'I don't know anyone here' I thought?

Just ahead, I could see a man helping an elderly gentleman out of the front door of a house, but couldn't make out who it was. This house is very beautiful, is made from traditional mud brick and has the most spectacular view of the main Pylon of the Temple of Medinet Habu.
As I moved closer, I recognised the face, it was Ragab, I hadn't seen him for a very long time and we shook hands vigorously.

It was his fathers house and he began to explain why he had not been around as much as before. Sadly his father has developed Alzheimers and things seem to be going downhill fairly quickly. He said that he had read about the illness but wanted to know if there was anything he could do to help him.
His father called across and asked me to have tea, his face was beaming, he had a cheeky grin, how could I refuse!
He was a very funny man, a bit of a charmer and by all accounts was extremely clever in his youth and was extremely generous. I could feel all this, he really had such a sparkle in his eye and seemed very alert to what was happening. Ragab commented and seemed confused as to why at this particular time, he was as he remembered. But on other occasions he would not be able to remember things?

It was a very interesting conversation, as we sat under the shade drinking shai and fresh guava juice, but it was also a reality check, that life can change at any time and without warning.

A friend of mine lost her life due to cancer yesterday, she remained dignified and courageous throughout. Karin, you will be missed. xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.