Northern Exposure

By Northern

Winter stones

Had to pop through to Stromness today, decided to grab a sandwich and take a detour past the standing stones at Stenness for a picnic. A bright day but damnable cold so I wimped out and ate my lunch in the car before going for a wander.

The stones are impressive at any time of year but I must admit I prefer being there in the winter when there are fewer folk around. Today the only tourist was a guy in a big hat who scurried out of his car, read the signs, dashed up to touch one of the stones and then headed back to the car as fast as he could.

At least I lingered long enough to make my fingers turn blue, my eyes water and to take some photographs. Actually if I hadn't had to get back to work I may have wandered further, it really was a bonnie afternoon for a walk... if you were well wrapped up.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.