biddy

By biddy

September morning.

I woke this morning and realised that it felt cold. 
It was 6.15 am and not time for the heating to switch it self on. 
I looked through the bedroom window and saw that there had been a frost. 
It  was 2C. 
The extension roof was white. 
It was a still, calm sky. A drift of white steam from one of the houses across the back gardens, signalling the start of someone's morning. The condensation from their boiler escaping into the thin air. 
   There was hardly a breath of wind and the sun was catching the roofs in a mellow light. 
The birds were not yet stirring in the cold. I took the photo from the spare bedroom in the loft. 
Later the goldfinches returned to our nyger seed feeder and the bluetits, great tits and coal tits busied themselves with the sunflower feeder. 
I have taken off the heads of the giant sunflowers which have finished and  put them on the stack of old patio chairs behind the summerhouse. 
The hedgehog had been last night and finished his dried meal worms, he must be really fat now! I saw him once at around 10.20 pm the other week busily chomping away. Not sure if it is just him/her who is eating them.
        Around teatime I went to replenish his food and thought I heard a  noise under the summerhouse. I know there is a nest there so maybe it is being made ready for hibernation. 
     It was very funny in the spring when their unusual repertoire of noises emanated from beneath the wooden floor. I did a bit of research into hedgehog sounds and learned to recognise them. YouTube has it's uses! 
      A visit to the garden centre later followed to buy more "Patch Magic" in order to  repair the bare patches in our lawns. You scatter the seed which has a kind of compost with it, and on watering the compost swells so covering the  grass seeds, which hopefully deters the birds. 
    I have already used one lot and it is already generating new growth.    
This of course was the result of the glorious summer we experienced this year.
So no complaints. 
      We really are having an Indian Summer this week. I wonder where the expression originates?  
        

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.