Friendship.

I have been busy this morning as it is showery and curtails my gardening activity at times, clearing an old set of shelves (filled with books) in the back bedroom. The books do have a new home either in our loft bedroom or what passes for an “office”.
Since we have had a Hospice shop for books on our doorstep, these get regularly inspected for recycling. The book shop is wonderful. It is almost like a mini library and is so well used. Each book that is resold goes towards the St Giles Cancer support centre and the Hospice near Lichfield, where my hubby is a trained volunteer for Bereavement Counselling.
All the books are now on the back bed waiting for me to put them in their new positions!
Our “office” shelves are crammed with all kinds, from factual, to fiction, books about counselling, travel guides, and my French section!
Reading one new French book every 6 or 8 weeks (depending on how long our Book club thinks it will take to read it!) means over the past 8 years I’ve accumulated quite a lot!
I was so pleased to find that the Hospice shop will take them. I’ve sent a batch up there now and again.
Obviously I’ve kept the ones I would love to re-read at some point.
All this rather long preamble leads me to the photo.
I found this tucked in between two other books. It is a small thin book with sayings about the attributes of Grace from my friend Sue at a point at which things had been particularly difficult for me.
We recently met Sue and her hubby Barry once more when we were staying near where we used to live in Hampshire.
The 13 years between just fell away. Meeting face to face after all that time, when our communications moved from letters to emails and now to WhatsApp!
I still like to write letters but WhatsApp means we can share photos so easily.
I’ve got one eye on the proceedings in Parliament having given the bathroom what I term a thorough clean! Instead of the other term of “giving it a cat lick” A phrase my mother used often in a derogatory sense! (I have never liked cleaning!)
Some things are obviously a necessity but dust usually waits till I can write my name in it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.