Autumnal Equinox today.

It was a fine sunny morning when we went to the funeral of a remarkable lady, aged 91, that I knew from my contacts with various French groups. She was one of the first members of our French Book Club. Born in France in Paris into a French family she was a young girl living through the Occupation of Paris. Her son read out an extract from her journal of that time. Our generation have never lived under enemy rule.
Her life was revealed in touching tributes by her son, his wife, and poems in French, and English were read. She was a fascinating indomitable lady with a wicked sense of humour!
I could go on about other stories which were related but I will always remember her for taking an interest in me, my husband and family whenever I was in her company at either the Anglo-French Society from time to time, or our Book Club, and meals which we shared together in the company of 4 other friends, one of them a native French man who now has British Citizenship, who takes my French Conversation session every couple of weeks.
The conversations at the dinner table were mainly a mix of French and English and very stimulating!
She will be missed greatly by her family and close friends.
After lunch hubby and I did a 3 mile circular walk before the forecast rain began. I took the photo then of the hawthorn berries.
As I write it is raining steadily outside and the drops are spattering on the front room window in the intermittent gusts of wind.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.